Hon Murray McCully
and the 
East Coast Bays Electorate

I was born in Whangarei and grew up just outside Dargaville. I have lived in Auckland since university and have been an East Coast Bays resident for over 30 years.

I am a qualified barrister and solicitor, and prior to entering Parliament was principal of a public relations company.

Since 1987, I have been privileged to represent the East Coast Bays electorate in Parliament. Over this time I have held several portfolios including Housing, Tourism, Customs, and ACC. I am currently the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister for Sport and Recreation.

The East Coast Bays electorate includes Okura in the north; the coastal suburbs of Torbay to Murrays Bay in the south; together with Northcross, Pinehill, Rosedale, Unsworth Heights and Wairau Valley. As of 2006, the resident population of the East Coast Bays electorate was 58,956. Nearly half (45.6%) were born overseas, with over half (59.3%) arriving in the last 10 years (Source: Parliamentary Library, July 2009).

The Browns Bay Electorate Office is your first stop for advice and assistance with issues you might have with government departments or within the electorate. Electorate staff (Alexis and Erica) are available during office hours to help solve individual problems as well as explain how you could be affected by new government policies and initiatives. Constituents are encouraged to offer comments or opinions on national or local matters.

- Murray McCully

East Coast Bays Boundary Changes 2014

The East Coast Bays electorate boundaries have changed slightly due to the creation of the Upper Harbour electorate, which has drawn population predominantly from neighbouring electorates of East Coast Bays, Helensville and Te Atatū.

The East Coast Bays electorate includes Okura in the north, the coastal suburbs of Long Bay down to Murrays Bay in the south together with Glenvar, Northcross, Pinehill and Fairview Heights. The new boundary changes include Albany Village down to Schanpper Rock and along via upper Harbour Highway to Murrays Bay. Suburbs that no longer come under East Coast Bays and now belong to the newly created Upper Harbour electorate include Unsworth Heights, The Palms, Meadowood, Totara Vale, Glenfield and Wairau Valley.

You can check which electorate you will be voting in by typing your address into the Electoral Commission's interactive map.

More Information

Details on all of the 2014 electorate districts is available on www.elections.org.nz including the full report of the Representation Commission 2014. The report is also available for inspection at Registrar of Electors offices.

Electorate Photo Gallery
Hon Murray McCully © 2011  |  Website Design by Labyrinth Solutions  |  Content Management by Contegro

Authorised by Murray McCully, 85 Beachfront Lane, Browns Bay, Auckland